Accessing Advice: Sometimes The Support Isn’t There

I have been in A&E since writing the last post, which saw me staving off a self-harm attempt by being sensible and seeking help and advice. I had sutures for all times.

The last time, yesterday, I tried so hard to speak to someone, anyone before I cut myself.

At 10.30am I turned up at A&E to speak with the DSH team but no one was answering the phone. The receptionist called the crisis team who said it would be 4 hours before they could see me.

At 11am I rang Allison who was out but her secretary promised me that she’d ring me back.

At 11.15 I rang the Priory to discover my therapist was busy all morning and the assistant psychologist wasn’t in yesterday.

At 11.30 I rang the crisis team who wouldn’t speak with me as I wasn’t on their caseload and suggested I went to A&E or rang my CPN back.

At 11.45 I rang Allison again, who was still out.

At 12pm I took a diazepam and slept until 1.30pm.

At 2pm I cut myself and ended up in A&E with the same receptionist booking me in.

I ended up in minor injuries and got discharged with no psych assessment.

Allison finally rang me back as I left A&E. I told her what had happened and she said I had tried all the right things.

Sometimes I don’t know why I bother.

Ruth